• My Petro-Canada
  •  
  • Petro-Points
  •  
  • Our Fuel & Fuel Savings
  •  
  • Our Stations & Stores
  •  
  • Car Wash
  •  
  • Credit, Prepaid & Gift Cards
  •  
  • Olympic & Paralympic Sponsorship
  • Our Partners
  • How We Help
  •  
  • Find A Gas Station
    City:  

    or Postal Code:  

    Advanced Search
    Find a gas station
     

    Supporting Canadian Athletes and Coaches

    How We Help

    Over the past 25 years, Petro-Canada has proudly supported thousands of Canadian athletes, coaches and their families.

    The Fuelling Athlete and Coaching
    Excellence (FACE) Program

    Providing non-carded athletes and their coaches support to achieve their dreams.

    Learn more

    Aspiring Olympic and Paralympic athletes and their coaches are eligible to receive financial assistance through the Petro-Canada Fuelling Athlete and Coaching Excellence (FACE)™ program, which provides funding to amateur athletes hoping to one day represent Canada at the Olympic or Paralympic Games. Annually, Petro-Canada provides $500,000 to 50 athlete and coach pairings.

    The path to the podium can be long and challenging, however, through the FACE program we are there for our athletes as they embark on their journey. The FACE program helps by providing $10,000 in funding to an athlete and their coach to support their development in sport and their work towards achieving national carded status. Non-carded athletes do not receive any government funding and depend on programs like FACE to pursue their dreams.

    Athletes and coaches can use the funding for:

    • training
    • equipment
    • travel to competition

    To date, the FACE program has helped over 2,600 Canadian athletes and their coaches by providing more than $8,900,000 in financial support.

    Who is eligible to apply for FACE funding?

    All current Olympic and Paralympic sports are eligible for FACE program funding. Athletes are nominated and selected based on criteria established by Petro-Canada, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Canadian Paralympic Committee.

    National Sport Federations (NSFs) select and nominate candidates across Canada who would best benefit from the funding. A committee comprised with representatives from Petro-Canada, the Canadian Olympic and Paralympic committees and the Coaching Association of Canada work together to select the final recipients.

    View the 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 FACE recipients

    Check out the Petro-Canada Fuels Athletes Facebook page for a behind-the-scenes look at our FACE recipients

    Canadian Athlete Family Program (CAFP)

    Petro-Canada has extended our contribution to help our athlete's greatest fans —
    their families.

    Learn more

    We believe one of the best ways for Petro-Canada to support Canadian athletes is to help their biggest supporters — their families — be there to see them compete. That’s why in 2010 we launched the Canadian Athlete Family Program (CAFP). This first-of-its-kind initiative allowed over 500 athletes' family members to watch their loved ones compete live at the 2010 Vancouver Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

    We were proud to continue this legacy of support through a ticketing program that ensured the families of Canadian Olympians and Paralympians competing at the London 2012 and Sochi 2014 Games had the opportunity to watch their athletes compete live — and that Canadian athletes had their own personal cheering section. We will continue this support in Rio 2016.

    Fuelling the Dream Café

    In addition to providing Olympic and Paralympic Games tickets, Petro-Canada also provides support for families through the Fuelling the Dream Café within Canada Olympic House and Canada Paralympic House — a home away from home for Canadian athletes and their parents.

    Get updates on Canadian Athletes, coaches and their families on the Petro-Canada Fuels Athletes Facebook page

    James Worrall Flag Bearer Award

    An award presented to the Canadian athletes that carry our flag into the Opening and Closing Ceremonies of the Games.

    Learn more

    bronze awardSince 2002, Petro-Canada has recognized the honour of carrying Canada’s flag into the Opening and Closing Ceremonies of both the Olympic and the Paralympic Games by presenting the James Worrall Flag Bearer Award to the athletes chosen to lead Canada’s teams into the Olympic or the Paralympic Stadium.

    The award is named in honour of our friend James Worrall, who competed for Canada in the 1936 Olympic Games in Berlin and who proudly represented our country as flag bearer for the team. When his athletic career ended, Mr. Worrall became a dedicated, lifelong sports builder and executive, an ambassador worldwide for the Canadian Olympic Movement. Though Mr. Worrall (1914-2011) is no longer with us, his Olympic spirit lives on, reflected in the athletes who receive this award that bears his name.

    The award itself is a beautiful sculpture designed and created by renowned Canadian artist Micah Lexier. The sculpture is just as solid, impressive, and undeniably Canadian as the athletes on our teams.

    Athens 2004 marked the first time that Paralympic athletes received the award.

    View James Worrall Flag Bearer Award recipients

    Paralympic Schools Program

    Helping young students learn more about people with disabilities, the Paralympic Games and Paralympic sports.

    Learn more

    Petro-Canada believes that education builds strong individuals and prepares them for the world. By contributing to projects that encourage equality and fair-play early on in life, we play a part in building the foundation for healthy adults and citizens in the future.

    In partnership with the Canadian Paralympic Committee, we sponsor the Paralympic Schools Program designed to help young students learn more about people with disabilities, the Paralympic Games and Paralympic sports.

    The program emphasizes the significance of inclusion and equality within our communities.

    The Petro-Canada Paralympic Schools Program:

    • Speaks to young people, ages nine to 13, and offers fun online multi-media lessons and activities, as well as prizes and giveaways
    • Educates both able and disabled students about equality and inclusiveness
    • Sensitizes students to the human potential that resides in all of us — a message that we all have disabilities to recognize and overcome
    • Helps youth adjust to the challenges of the real world where life is not always about success, but more often about resilience, responding to setbacks and obstacles, and having the persistence to overcome the fear of failure
    • Offers lesson plans to teachers covering the five core curriculum subjects: language arts, physical education, visual arts, mathematics and history.

    In 2012, the Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) launched a new, innovative education program that includes:

    • Curriculum-specific resources
    • Cross-curricular activities
    • Formal assessment objectives
    • Interactive schemes of work.

    These resources were designed in collaboration with provincial ministries of education, national sports organizations and other key stakeholders in the education community. This educational resource not only assists schools in assuring inclusivity, but provides further opportunities for students of all abilities to access academic and sporting opportunities.

    Visit the Paralympics Schools Program website

• Mon Petro-Canada
  •  
  • Petro-Points
  •  
  • Notre essence et nos économies sur l’essence
  •  
  • Nos stations et nos dépanneurs
  •  
  • Lave-auto
  •  
  • Cartes de crédit, Cartes Prépayées et cartes-cadeaux
  •  
  • Commandite olympique & paralympique
  • Nos partenaires
  • La façon dont nous aidons
  •  
  • Find A Gas Station
    Ville :  

    ou Code postal :  

    Recherche avancée
    Trouver un établissement
     

    Soutien aux athlètes et aux entraîneurs canadiens

    La façon dont nous aidons

    Au cours des 25 dernières années, Petro-Canada a appuyé avec fierté des milliers d’athlètes et d’entraîneurs canadiens ainsi que leurs familles.

    Programme Alimenter l’excellence des athlètes
    et des entraîneurs (AEAE)

    Offrir du soutien aux athlètes non brevetés et à leurs entraîneurs pour les aider à réaliser leurs rêves.

    En savoir plus

    Les aspirants athlètes olympiques et paralympiques et leurs entraîneurs peuvent recevoir un soutien financier dans le cadre du programme Alimenter l’excellence des athlètes et des entraîneurs (AEAE) de Petro-CanadaMC, dont l’objectif consiste à financer les athlètes amateurs qui espèrent représenter un jour le Canada aux Jeux olympiques et paralympiques. Chaque année, Petro-Canada verse un total de 500 000 $ à 50 duos d’athlètes et d’entraîneurs.

    Le chemin vers le podium peut être long et ardu. Grâce au programme AEAE, nous épaulons nos athlètes dès le début de leur aventure olympique ou paralympique. Le programme AEAE offre un financement de 10 000 $ à des duos d’athlètes et d’entraîneurs, afin de favoriser leur développement sportif et de les aider à obtenir le brevet national. Les athlètes non brevetés ne reçoivent aucune subvention du gouvernement et comptent sur des programmes tels que l’AEAE pour réaliser leurs rêves.

    Les athlètes et leurs entraîneurs peuvent utiliser la subvention pour :

    • s’entraîner;
    • se procurer de l’équipement;
    • se rendre aux compétitions.

    Jusqu’à maintenant, le programme AEAE a aidé plus de 2 600 athlètes canadiens et leurs entraîneurs, en offrant un soutien financier de plus de 8 900 000 $.

    Conditions d’admissibilité à une demande de financement dans le cadre du programme AEAE

    Tous les sports olympiques et paralympiques actuels sont admissibles à un financement dans le cadre du programme AEAE. Les athlètes sont sélectionnés en fonction des critères établis par Petro-Canada, le Comité olympique canadien et le Comité paralympique canadien.

    Les organismes nationaux de sport proposent des candidats de partout au Canada susceptibles de tirer le meilleur parti d’un tel financement. Un comité réunissant des représentants de Petro-Canada, du Comité olympique canadien, du Comité paralympique canadien et de l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs sélectionne ensuite les candidats.

    Voir les lauréats du programme AEAE de 2011, 2012, 2013 et 2014 

    Consulter la page Facebook « Petro-Canada aide les athlètes à faire le plein » pour un regard en coulisse sur nos lauréats AEAE

    Programme Famille des athlètes canadiens

    Petro-Canada a élargi sa contribution pour aider les plus fervents partisans des athlètes canadiens : leur famille.

    En savoir plus

    Petro-Canada croit que l’une des meilleures façons d’appuyer les athlètes canadiens est d’aider leurs plus grands partisans, c’est-à-dire leur famille, à se rendre sur les lieux de compétition. C’est pourquoi nous avons mis sur pied le programme Famille des athlètes canadiens en 2010. Cette initiative unique a permis à 500 membres de familles d’athlètes d’assister en direct aux compétitions de leurs proches lors des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’hiver de 2010 à Vancouver.

    Nous sommes fiers d’avoir poursuivi cette tradition de soutien grâce à un programme de billets qui a non seulement permis aux familles des athlètes olympiques et paralympiques canadiens d’être présentes aux Jeux de Londres en 2012 et aux Jeux de Sotchi en 2014, mais qui a également fait en sorte que les athlètes canadiens soient portés par les acclamations de leurs propres sections de partisans. Nous comptons également offrir ce soutien lors des Jeux de Rio en 2016.

    Café Alimenter le rêve

    En plus de fournir des billets pour les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques, Petro-Canada vient en appui aux familles grâce au Café Alimenter le rêve. Situé dans les maisons olympique et paralympique canadiennes, le Café se veut un lieu de retrouvailles, loin de la maison, pour les athlètes canadiens et leurs parents.

    Consulter la page Facebook Petro-Canada aide les athlètes à faire le plein pour connaître les dernières nouvelles sur les athlètes, les entraîneurs et leurs familles

    Prix du porte-drapeau James-Worrall

    Prix présenté aux athlètes canadiens qui portent le drapeau du Canada lors des cérémonies d’ouverture et de clôture des Jeux.

    En savoir plus

    bronze awardDepuis 2002, Petro-Canada rend hommage à ceux qui ont l’honneur de porter le drapeau du Canada lors des cérémonies d’ouverture et de clôture des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques en présentant le Prix du porte-drapeau James Worrall aux athlètes qui ont été choisis pour mener les équipes canadiennes dans les stades où se déroulent les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques.

    Ce prix est présenté en l’honneur de notre ami James Worral qui a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1936 à Berlin et a représenté notre pays avec fierté à titre de porte-drapeau de l’équipe canadienne. À l’issue de sa carrière d’athlète, M. Worral a exercé tout au long de sa vie des fonctions de bâtisseur et de dirigeant du milieu des sports, faisant office d’ambassadeur du Mouvement olympique canadien dans le monde entier. Bien que M. Worral (1914-2011) ne soit plus parmi nous, son esprit olympique se perpétue par l’entremise des athlètes qui reçoivent ce prix en son honneur.

    En soi, le prix consiste en une magnifique sculpture conçue et créée par Micah Lexier, un artiste canadien de grande renommée. L’œuvre est solide, remarquable et indéniablement canadienne, tout comme les athlètes qui représentent le Canada.

    Le prix a été remis pour la première fois à des athlètes participant aux Jeux paralympiques dans le cadre des Jeux de 2004 à Athènes.

    Voir les lauréats du Prix du porte-drapeau James Worrall

    Programme scolaire paralympique

    Permettre aux jeunes élèves d’en savoir davantage sur les personnes qui ont un handicap, sur les Jeux paralympiques et sur les sports paralympiques.

    En savoir plus

    Petro-Canada croit que les programmes éducatifs renforcent la détermination et préparent les jeunes à prendre leur place dans le monde. En appuyant des projets qui encouragent les principes d’égalité et l’esprit sportif dès le jeune âge, nous contribuerons à façonner des adultes et des citoyens épanouis.

    En partenariat avec le Comité paralympique canadien, nous commanditons le programme scolaire paralympique qui permet aux jeunes élèves d’en savoir davantage sur les personnes ayant un handicap, sur les Jeux paralympiques et sur les sports paralympiques.

    Le programme scolaire paralympique de Petro-Canada :

    The Petro-Canada Paralympic Schools Program:

    • s’adresse aux jeunes de neuf à treize ans, et leur offre des leçons et des activités multimédias amusantes, ainsi que des prix et des cadeaux;
    • enseigne aux élèves les notions d’égalité et d’inclusion, qu’ils aient un handicap ou non;
    • sensibilise les élèves au potentiel humain qui réside en chacun de nous, au fait que nous devons tous reconnaître et surmonter les incapacités qui nous sont propres;
    • aide les jeunes à composer avec les difficultés concrètes, dans un contexte où il n’est pas toujours question de réussir, mais plus souvent de faire preuve de résilience, de venir à bout des embûches et des obstacles et de persévérer afin de surmonter la peur de l’échec;
    • propose des plans de cours aux professeurs dans cinq matières de base : langues, éducation physique, arts visuels, mathématiques et histoire.

    En 2012, le Comité paralympique canadien (CPC) a lancé un programme éducatif novateur qui englobe :

    • des ressources propres au programme;
    • des activités interprogrammes;
    • des objectifs d’évaluation officiels;
    • des schémas de travail interactifs.

    Ces ressources ont été élaborées en collaboration avec les ministères provinciaux de l’Éducation, les organismes nationaux de sports et d’autres intervenants clés du milieu éducatif. Cet outil éducatif aidera les écoles à assurer l’inclusion et permettra à tous les élèves, quelles que soient leurs capacités, de bénéficier d’occasions éducatives et sportives.

    Visiter le site Web du Programme scolaire paralympique